C.C. Finlay, or Charles Coleman Finlay, is known to his friends as Charlie. He is the author of four novels, The Prodigal Troll (Pyr, 2005), as well as the historical fantasy trilogy "Traitor to the Crown," comprised of The Patriot Witch, A Spell for the Revolution, and The Demon Redcoat (Del Rey, April, May, and June 2009). His story collection Wild Things (Subterranean Press, 2005) includes "We Come Not to Praise Washington" (Sidewise finalist, short form, 2003), "Pervert" (Gaylactic Spectrum finalist, short form, 2005), and "The Political Officer" (Hugo and Nebula finalist, novella, 2003). "The Political Prisoner," a sequel to the latter story, is a 2009 Hugo, Nebula, and Sturgeon finalist. His stories have appeared frequently in Fantasy & Science Fiction, as well as other magazines including Strange Horizons, Subterranean, and Beneath Ceaseless Skies, and have been collected in Year's Best Science Fiction, Vols. 20 and 26 (ed. Gardner Dozois), Mammoth Book of Best New Horror 15 (ed. Stephen Jones), Year's Best Fantasy 4 and Year's Best Science Fiction 10 (eds. David G. Hartwell and Kathryn Cramer), and Science Fiction: Best of the Year 2008 (ed Rich Horton.). He was a finalist for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer in 2003. He has been an instructor at Clarion and the Alpha Writers workshop, and spent seven years as the administrator of the Online Writing Workshop. He is one of the founders of the Blue Heaven novel writing workshop. He lives in Columbus, Ohio, with his wife and sometimes co-author, Rae Carson Finlay, and two sons.